Pookie Loves American Girl!

Hello all, Pookie here!  It’s been a while since I’ve updated you on my read alouds with Mama, but summer is a busy time for me…travel, parties, juice boxes.  You understand.

Anyway, we struggled to find something good to read for a long stretch, but once Mama started reading me American Girl books, we seemed to hit a rhythm.  We’ve read Meet Felicity and Felicity Learns a Lesson.  Right now we’re reading Felicity’s Surprise; sense a pattern?  Once we finish the Felicity books, we might take a break from American Girl…or we might not.  Who knows.  The world is our sandbox.

I know you’re thinking those books are for big girls, but does it really matter?  I’m learning to listen to a story, aren’t I?  And Mama’s enjoying the stories, which is more than we can say for Stuart Little

We’ve also had a change in when we read our read alouds, because Mama felt the need to read more of the Bible throughout the day.  So, our story read aloud has moved to whenever it fits in our day, and we read the Bible at breakfast and lunch.  We read again with Papa after supper, which is my favorite Bible time of the day because I get to hold and flip through my own Bible, the pink one my pastor and his wife gave me right after I was born.

It’s pretty special to me.

So, that’s what I’ve been reading…hope you’re reading something good, too!

P.S. Could you tell Mama to take pictures of me when I’m doing something other than eating?

2 responses to “Pookie Loves American Girl!

  1. Becky Terry September 28, 2011 at 6:05 am

    Oh my ~ LOVE that you are reading American Girl to her….you’ll be on “Little Women,” Dickens, and Tolstoy in no time!!!

    My niece, Corinne, taught herself how to read at age four with American Girl books. Her Mama would read a chapter or two a night….but, that wasn’t enough for Corinne, so she taught herself so she could continue. She was an avid reader all her life. Always had a book in her face….even when she was sick. LOVED, LOVED, LOVED to read.

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE that you are reading more and more of the Bible to her….what a blessing! God will SO honor that. She is one blessed little girl. I have started (yet, once again) to read it as a book (no stopping and studying; this is in addition to studying it during my QT). Adds another layer.

    I just got finished reading, “To Kill a Mockingbird.” I know. I know. What took me so long? (Hey, still haven’t read a lot of classics. My schooling left a lot to be desired, and wanted to read current stuff, I guess.) Anyway, to be honest….for me ~ did not live up to the hype. I sorta slogged through it (sorry, Harper Lee and devotees). I think maybe it was because I had just read “The Help” (sorta the same theme…different decade/slant), and “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn,” which is another “coming of age” set “back-in-the-day” story. So, kinda bad timing, I guess.

    Just started “Sarah’s Key” ~ which my sister loved. She also wants my Mom to read it. So far, I like it. Every other chapter goes back and forth from the 40’s and current time (in Paris.) The chapters are short and sweet. Maybe that’s why I like it….goes with my attention span.

    Happy Autumnal reading, dear one.

    L., B.

    • MK @ thismomreads September 28, 2011 at 9:47 am

      Thanks, Becky! Bible time has already been a blessing for my husband and I, so I look forward to how it affects Pookie as she grows. And I’m LOVING the American Girl stories. We’re on the fourth Felicity book but brought home the first two Rebecca books for a change of pace. She’s one of the new American girls, so we’ll have to see if the new stories hold up to the quality of the ones I’m familiar with.

      I’m sorry you weren’t nuts about TKM; we read it in tenth grade and were assigned the first few chapters over a weekend. My teacher laughed and didn’t know what to do with me when I came to school Monday with it finished! He recommended A Prayer for Owen Meany, but I just couldn’t get into it.

      I started reading The Help on my Nook for free at B&N but haven’t been back lately. I’m looking forward to finishing it someday, though….whenever that is! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

