Finished that Potty Book!

Well, I didn’t finish by the end of the month; it is April 2, and I just finished my potty book-of-the-month.

But, if I had not been traveling for a week in the middle?  I would have finished with time to spare.

So for me, the potty reading habit will live on…there’s already a book of William Blake poetry waiting for my next “visit”.

If you remember, I was reading The Last Lecture, a collection of anecdotes and wisdom from Randy Pausch, a Carnegie Mellon professor who was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer and only a few months to live.  I knew the basics of his story because I had seen part of the lecture video, but there was so much more depth in the book.

Randy Pausch spent his days chasing after the dreams of his childhood: he loved Disney and wanted to be an Imagineer–which he achieved.  He wanted to be in zero gravity–which he achieved.  The list goes on and on, but more than gloating about his accomplishments, Pausch wrote about how he achieved his goals and why he personally had the tenacity to reach after them.

He’s an interesting study in optimism…though the whole thing should be sad, I only got a bit choked up at the end, and even that wasn’t in a manner of pity.  If you’re looking for something inspiring, accessible, and quick-to-read, add this to your list.

And if you have an hour or so, check out the video of his lecture*:

It’s worth the time.

If you were told you had three months left of good health, what would you do with it?

*Note: Beware of (and sorry for the pun) some potty language in the lecture.

3 responses to “Finished that Potty Book!

  1. Heather April 11, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    I glad I am not the only one who reads in the potty. That made me smile. I had to comment as my blog is named after an outhouse. I am going to have to check out Randy Pausch’s book. It sounds really interesting.

  2. Nikki April 11, 2011 at 7:31 pm

    We should all live like we only have three months to live, don’t you think? Then we would do what we need and want and leave undone the meaningless.

Leave a Reply

