Classic Monday: Avoidance + Confession

So, I haven’t done a Classic Monday post the past few weeks.  Why?  Because I feel pressured every time I look at the pretty, vintage copy of The Big Fisherman laying on my nightstand, inviting me to crack its spine and dive in–which I do.  The problem is, there are so many other things to read, too!

Here’s a confession: for as much as I love reading, I’m a slow reader.  And an ADD one at that…I struggle with books that don’t move quickly enough and I have a terrible habit of starting too many books at a time.

How does any of that relate to Classic Mondays?  I had all of these grand delusions intentions about reading a classics chapter every day, finishing four classics this year, etc.  But I never factored in my reading ADD or Pookie’s playtime needs.

And I don’t want to skimp on playtime because I feel guilty!

So, I come to you, my reader friend, with a new goal: if I read a chapter a week and finish just one classic this year, I will feel successful.

Phew, with that off my chest I can share with you about chapter 10!

Voldi meets a bunch of Romans and Lloyd C. Douglas philosophizes about Roman culture, with accurate predictions (through the guise of characters) about the downfall of Rome.  It was fascinating and I understand where he was going, but it wasn’t executed to the best of his ability, in my humble opinion.

Then Voldi goes on his way, traveling toward Galilee with a tip from a Roman: he should seek Ben Zadok, the lawyer who got Fara her job in the palace, so I’m sure Voldi and Fara will soon be reunited..though the way their paths cross should be interesting.

Voldi passes through Nazareth, where the food, the people, and the surroundings are unappetizing and unwelcoming.  But he does meet with a farrier who tells him about Jesus as a child.  I like the way Douglas portrays Jesus in his youth; Jesus is said to have been shy around adults but eager to tell other children about a wonderful country where

there was no winter and no darkness–and the rivers never dried or overflowed–and nobody was ever sick–and nobody died–and nobody wept.  And everyone loved the King….The country was at peace.  There were no soldiers, no forts, no prisons, no alms-houses.  Everyone had some work to do, but not for money.  There wasn’t any money.  No one was rich; no one was poor.  And flowers grew everywhere and always–but nobody gathered them (278, 279).

Doesn’t that sound like the place to be?  One day, one day…

Leave a Reply

