Potty Reading: Week 1

Last week I announced that I planned to do double duty while…well, doing my dooty, if I can be so plain.  I have been mostly faithful in this–I don’t always remember, but I’ve remembered more than I imagined I would.

And the results have been pretty surprising: I’ve read 80 pages in a week, just during bathroom visits.

I think the most helpful thing thus far has been that my book moves quickly and has lots of natural stops, like short chapters and paragraph breaks.  It’s easy to say,  “Okay, I’ll read to this spot,” and set the book aside.

At this rate, I should be able to finish the book this month…and I think this method could work with any novel.  Wouldn’t that be something, add an extra novel to your every month just by using the toilet?

So far, so good, though we’re headed home for spring break on Friday and will be there until Wednesday.  I’m not bringing my bathroom book–that would be a bit awkward to explain to the in-laws!

3 responses to “Potty Reading: Week 1

  1. Becky Terry March 22, 2011 at 3:30 pm

    This theme is so funny and cute.

    My bathroom reading is magazines….that way you don’t have a hard time keeping up with plot details, etc. (I’m over 50)

    True confessions, here: I am somewhat of a hoarder….can’t stand to throw anything out until I’ve read it. My Mom got me “Good Housekeeping” for years for Christmas ~ I am inching up to the mid-to-late 90’s…..sick and weird, I realize. But, it’s just me! Such a sense of accomplishment to get one read (cover to cover). Sometimes I mark when I started reading it….it takes me about one to two months, on average. S-L-O-W! Good news is I stopped getting the GH several years ago, so my house isn’t like ones you see on TV….thank God.

    Waste-FULL reading,

    B.

    • thismomreads March 23, 2011 at 11:16 am

      I love that you’re going through Good Housekeeping! For me, magazines in the bathroom are taboo because of my dad’s stack after embarrassing stack of them–but I understand their convenience in that role.
      Glad to know I’m not the only one doing double “dooty”! :D

  2. Pingback: Finished that Potty Book! «

Leave a Reply

