Pookie Begins Reading

Hi!  My name is Pookie.  Well…no, it isn’t.  But Mommy says that you, whoever you are, could be a psychopath, and it’s better if you call me Pookie.

Anyway, Mommy and I spend time reading board books and baby books, but she also has this crazy idea to start reading chapter books to me.

Chapter books.  See my “huh?” face?  I’m seven months old (going on eight, thank you).  Sometimes, I think Mommy reads them more for herself than for me, but I can’t be sure.  So anyway, we eat lunch, sing a hymn from the hymnbook, and then we snuggle up to read together.

A while ago, we finished Charlotte’s Web, which is about a pig and a spider and a rat and a farm and a county fair.  At least that’s what I got out of it.  Mommy says it’s a beautiful story about growth, life, death, and friendship.  She really liked the gentle way it handled the passing of animals and the growing-up of kids.  And that the language brings her back to growing up on a farm, and growing up in general, when times and life were sweeter.

I liked that (almost) every chapter ended with Wilbur, Charlotte, and their friends going to sleep for the night; it was the perfect way to go from playtime to naptime for me, because it made me sleepy.

Well, speaking of playtime, I should go: my blocks are calling my name (which is Pookie, in case you’re a crazie)…but I’ll be back another time!

One response to “Pookie Begins Reading

  1. Becky Terry March 22, 2011 at 3:20 pm

    Pookie is absolutely adorable. How precious she is!!!

    And how blessed she is to have a wonderful Mother to nurture her in a love of reading.

    I did with mine….taking them to the library, reading to them, etc. My niece was an avid reader who taught herself how to read at age four because her Mom would stop after one chapter and she would also want to keep going (American Girl books). She always had her face in a book.

    Happy reading and sweet memories,

    Becky

Leave a Reply

