Steady Days and change in our home!

I would recommend Steady Days to any new–or not so new–mother: it reads quickly in one sitting or (more effectively) can be read in tiny bursts, then set aside so that you can ponder what you have read and figure out how to implement it into your day.

The author addresses everything from routines to capturing memories to drafting a mission/vision statement.  A lot of the information wasn’t new to me, and a lot of things I already had figured out for our household.  But a few really hit home.

For me, the biggest thing I took away was the idea of the flexible but structured routine for “steady days”.  Previously, I had created all sorts of schedules that included too much for Pookie and I right now: I accounted for every minute and then felt stifled to the point where I rejected the schedule and did nothing.  My house was in shambles, I played less with my darling than I wanted to, and I spent way too much time on the computer.

For me, in this season, I need a morning routine, routines for filling nap times with housework and writing, an afternoon routine to get supper started and the house quickly picked up, and an after-dinner-quick-clean-the-kitchen-so-I-don’t-start-tomorrow-with-a-disaster routine.  The rest of the day fills itself with together playtime, reading together, independent play for both of us (Pookie on the floor with toys, me at the computer or with a book), and a whole lot more enjoyment.

The other big thing I took away was this: a little bit of TV is okay…and it can go a long way. After doing all sorts of reading online about babies and TV, I fretted that I had done Pookie serious, permanent damage by letting her anywhere near a television screen.  Common sense from the author (and my own memory of my childhood) tells me otherwise: a single kid-friendly TV show every day, balanced with a lot of active play, is not going to kill anybody.  So, I integrated Pookie’s TV time and my afternoon routine time.  I nestle her in a chair (she’s not mobile yet, but soon I’ll have to get a play pen or something out) with a few toys and turn on Veggie Tales.  At just seven months old, she watches the songs and sings along {so cute} but otherwise plays with her toys.

The TV show is almost more for my benefit: my afternoon routine of straightening and prepping dinner has a finite time limit.  I won’t clean forever, and I won’t ignore it either because when the Veggie Tales stop dancing, we move onto the next part of the day.  It’s a scheduled event that is extremely freeing.

And doesn’t she look like she’s having a good time? {I would have stopped to take more and better pictures…but I had things to do during this time! :D }

For more information on the book, the author, and the ideas she teaches, visit her website.  There are downloadable worksheets and lots of encouragement and inspiration–something every mom could use a little more of!

{photo credit}

P.S. This post is linked to Booking It on Life as Mom.

One response to “Steady Days and change in our home!

  1. Tracey February 11, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    Thanks for sharing your review of this book! I’ve heard good things about it, so need to get my hands on a copy. (Cute pictures of your precious little girl!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

